Taken from the book, Oklahoma Place Names by George H. Shirk, pages 91, 92, & 93.
- FORT ARBUCKLE Site in southern Garvin County, 9 miles west of Davis. Established in 1851 and garrisoned until the Civil War; finally abandoned in 1870. A post office by this name was in operation at the site from August 4, 1853, to October 7, 1875. On August 20, 1884, a post office named Arbuckle was established at this site. The initial point from which all land surveys in Oklahoma except the Panhandle were measured is located 1 mile south. Named for Brigadier General Matthew Arbuckle.
- FORT BLUNT The name applied to Fort Gibson by the Union troops garrisoned there during 1863. Named for Major General J. G. Blunt.
- FORT COBB Site in Caddo County, 1 mile east of present town of Fort Cobb. Established in 1859 and garrisoned until the evacuation of Indian Territory in May, 1861, by Union troops; occupied for a short while following the Civil War. Present post office of Fort Cobb was established under the name Cobb in 1899, and name changed to Fort Cobb, October 31, 1902. Named Howell Cobb of Georgia, secretary of the treasury under President Buchanan.
- FORT COFFEE Site in Le Fore County, 8miles north of Spiro. A military post established in 1834 at Swallow Rock on the Arkansas River and abandoned in 1838. A post office from April 20, 1835 to September 20, 1838. The buildings thereafter were used as a Choctaw school for boys. Named for General John Coffee of Tennessee.
- FORT DAVIS Site in Muskogee County near present-day Bacone College. Established in 1861 by Brigadier General Albert Pike as Confederate military headquarters for Indian Territory. Destroyed by Union forces under Colonel W. A. Phillips on December 27, 1862. Named for President Jefferson Davis.
- FORT GIBSON Site adjoining present town of Fort Gibson in Muskogee County. Established April 21, 1824, and occupied continuously until 1857; again used as a military post during the Civil War. Known as Fort Blunt in 1863. Finally abandoned as a military post in 1890. Name of first post office at the site, Cantonment Gibson, changed to Fort Gibson, September 14, 1842. Named for Colonel George Gibson, head of the Army Commissary Department.
- FORT HOLMES Site in Hughes County at Bilby. Established as a military post in 1834 at the mouth of Little River, it did not see extended service. Named for Theophilis H. Holmes, who rose to the rank of lieutenant general in the Confederate Army.
TO BE CONTINUED.